Garden Route & Klein Karoo

The following municipalities and all its towns are included:


Eden District Municiplaity

George and Wilderness

Mossel Bay and Klein Brak River

and Groot Brak River

Knysna  - including Sedgefield

Bitou (Plettenberg Bay)

Hessequa (Still Bay, Riversdale, Heidelberg, Albertinia as the main towns)

Kannaland (Ladismith and Calitzdorp as the main towns)



Partners and key role players have been identified to assist in taking this vision forward in a self-sustainable way, and eight specific strategic interventions had been identified to guide the GR&KK Film Office as a one-stop service entry point for the local and international industry members.

The GR&KK film industry can grow by leveraging its unique and diverse combination of locations, ease of access and “Film Friendly” attitude. The challenge for the industry is how to effectively address the constraints it faces, so it can unlock the region’s growth potential. As the Western Cape’s next key economic hub, the region has a fast growing population, ready for both local and international productions. The region is becoming a popular filming destination and embraced the opportunity to become more pro-active and focussed on the industry needs.

District Municipality

54 York Street

Garden Route Film Commission

5 Witwatersrand Ave

Phone: +27 79 554 5046

Email Addresses

Knysna Specific Film & Events Office


+27 (44) 302 6300


5 Clyde Street
Knysna, Western Cape

Good to know

Annual Film Workshop Presentations
GRKK Film Office